New Child Portraits in Progress

A child portrait charcoal sketchI have a flurry of child portrait commissions on. It is so much fun working with kids although they don’t sit still but I have found that this is ok. I seem to be able to draw from moments. I take snapshots in my head as I work and hold on to them to draw with. Then if a part of it is not clear in my head I watch and wait for the moment when their face is in the right place and SNAP I take another image in my head.

Another amazing thing I have discovered is that I actually enjoy working in public. At the Kew Fete I held a couple of egg tempera painting demonstrations and I made artworks in public and I loved being there.

So I have plans to start working outdoors and in public more often.

This girl is totally enchanting.

Leave a Reply

